It's merely a convenience thing, when editing and saving any info in the general tab the editor is taken back to the user list. This caused the additional steps of searching, selecting, and then clicking edit again simply to get back to where you were. Clicking save should leave you on the same page, with the ability to make other changes as desired.
All editors / admins will benefit from modifying this behavior.